Tags

, , ,

First, let me say what an awesome friend I have! Emily, thank you for making me that amazing Totoro. I love it! I’m sorry it caused you so much pain, but isn’t my happiness worth it? (Just kidding. We have to celebrate your awesome sewing skills.)

For any of you who don’t know, My Neighbor Totoro is a Japanese animated film by Hayao Miyazaki, and I loved watching it as a child. I’m not sure how this gem fell into my VHS collection (Yes kiddies, those are tapes. You say old; I say vintage!). It’s a great movie for kids with its colorful setting, catchy tunes, and magical creatures. I know I am biased, but I think it is one of the children’s movies that might not drive grown-ups insane if your child loves it. Then again, anything might make you go crazy if you watch it enough.

I painted this awhile back when I wanted to practice painting with acrylics. My theory was that Totoro seemed to be a pretty simple shape to draw and would still look cute if I messed up his lines a bit. It is definitely not my strongest painting. Notice he kind of leans to one side, but I think all the “mistakes” I made give him character.

I don’t notice ANY mistakes in your plushie, Emily. You are your own harshest critic. He looks so darn huggable! Thank you for my amazing birthday present.

~Laura

